Monday, July 28, 2008

Catching up!

It's been awhile since my last post so I guess it's time to catch up. My brother Dick, did recover from his ordeal. Turns out that he had a bad reaction to the anesthesia during his surgery and his heart stopped!!!! He was "dead" for about 20 minutes according to the EMS report. Fortunately they were administering oxygen to him until they could get his heart to start beating so he didn't have any permanent damage. They didn't think he was going to make it and apparently only about 2% of patients that this happens to do make it so he was very "lucky". The surgeon wasn't even able to finish the shoulder surgery but I don't think Dick will be in a hurry to go back under the knife. He'll put up with the pain.

I'm still not running very much so I decided it would be a good time to get on my bike. I rode with Chris from the MTC last Saturday for about 25 miles. We've been talking about biking together since last August and finally did it. We're going to go to a bike event on Saturday and I plan on riding at least 25 miles and hopefully even a little further. I'd love to do about 40 to 50. The next thing I know I'll probably be doing triathlons! NOT! Maybe a duathlon!

Colleen came to visit on Saturday and Ella is getting really cute and fun. She's sitting up and is ready to explore. She is constantly looking around and is really happy. She's really good natured and never cried or fussed. She is really enamored with Chico. It's really funny how she always smiles when she sees him. He is so gentle and small that she probably feels pretty safe. Frank was using our new camera to take some pictures of her and dropped it on the coffee table breaking it. They sure don't make things like they used to. I felt so bad for him as he felt really bad. It's so small that it is kind of hard to hold on to? We really lucked out cause we went to Walmart to see what they had for cameras and they had the exact same camera reduced by about $40.00 cause it was the floor sample and I'm sure is about to be replaced with a newer model. We bought it and hopefully it will last a little longer. I think we'll be more careful although there are no guarantees.

I start a photo class at the community college tomorrow. Hopefully it'll be fun as well as informative. This class is about storing digital photos and organizing them. It seems that I put my pics on the computer and then don't get hard copies. I really need to work on that and get some picture frames filled. Next semester I want to take a class on actually taking digital pictures. It seems that I take a ton of pictures but don't really like them and feel that I miss many great opportunities.

My massage business is pretty slow and so far I've given about 6 massages and hopefully will continue to get new clients. I need to get my fliers out to my neighbors and friends.

I've been accessorizing a little more around here and the bedroom is starting to look much better. I moved the armoir and set up a little seating area and it looks really cozy. We bought a large plant at Cosco and it really warms up the room. Yes, a live plant. Hopefully I won't kill it! I'm waiting for a new bedspread that I ordered. Hopefully we'll like it. We also ordered new coffee tables and end tables for the living room. I had thought I'd refinish our old ones but they really don't work so I bit the bullet. I hated to spend more money but .... Then we had to order new lamps to go with those. I guess that's why I had put off buying new tables as I know it always snowballs! We also want to get blinds for the large windows for energy conservation. I guess I should just go for it and get it over it. The last large ticket item that I'd like to do is to carpet the guest rooms but I think that will wait for a little longer. I'm actually going to try to sell our antique bed. Hopefully we'll be able to do pretty well with that. I love it but it just isn't practical. When guests come, I don't think they're too crazy about how high it is so I think we'll just get a regular frame once we sell that.

Enough catching up for today. Gotta run!

No comments: