Friday, January 11, 2008

I met my hero!

I knew it would eventually happen but I finally met my hero. She was in the locker room at the same time as I and I had to find out about her. It was raining this morning and I noticed her bike at the club entrance when I got to the club and wondered if she rode there in the rain! I asked her if she had and she said she had not. Her husband had dropped her off along with her bike for her ride home. She lives about 5 miles from the club but often makes the ride 10 miles. Anyway, she is at the club every morning at 5:30 (when it opens) but runs for 2 hours BEFORE she gets there! What! How is that possible? She get up every morning between 2:30 and 3:00 and then runs for 2 hours, bikes to the club (5 -10 miles) takes a spinning class or some class depending on the day, works out on the stairclimber ( a real butt kicker) and swims laps everyday! She ends up at the club until about noon everyday. Saturdays and Sunday she doesn't get to the club until 7:00 but that's only because that's when it opens. I asked her how old she was (I know, I'm bold but if you saw her, you'd want to know as well!). She's 69 and will be 70 in a couple of months. She doesn't run in races or anything like that. She just enjoys working out and has been doing it all of her life. She says that she is blessed with tons of energy and has never had an injury. I don't quite get it but she seems to enjoy it and hey, it beats what most people do so to each their own. I asked her if she takes naps and she said no, she has tons of energy. I thought I was "overdoing it" by working out for 3 hours at the club, but now I feel like a wimp! Today, I ran for an hour on the treadmill, then did laps for about 45 minutes and thought I was pretty cool! Oh well, I've got my work cut out for me to keep up with her. She takes a 5:45 (yes AM) spinning class that I've wanted to take but can never get there that early, but may have to check it out now! Anyway, I no longer feel that I can overdo it! Game on! I'm ready to give her a run for her money!

No comments: