Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Getting back to business!

Well, it looks like my vacation is over. I interviewed with a spa today and decided to work part-time. I'm going to work a few hours a day a few days a week. I can pretty much set my own hours and will work as an independent contractor. We have to work out all of the legistics but it looks great. I'm going to stop by next week and spend some time getting to know everyone there and how they work together. Inga, the manager is very fair and I think it will be a good match. My hairdresser, Kim, turned me on to this place months ago and now that I am officially licensed and certified, I could pursue working there. I've very excited and working and meeting new people and clients. Frank will be getting lots of massages next week so I can get my massage hands back so he'll be happy.
We leave in the morning for Texas to run our 50 mile run. It's at this point in the event that I think I'm crazy to do these things and wonder why we do them. Fortunately, when we get there and start running, I'm always glad we do as they are so much "fun". It's what we do and it's what keeps us going. It'll be great to be back on the trails in Texas.

Tuesday, January 29, 2008

Thank God for massage and chiros

I don't normally post twice in the same day but I'm so relieved after getting a massage and visiting my chiropractor. My hamstring is much better after much kneading and stretching. The massage therapist that I found is pretty good and from what I understand, probably the exception to the rule for NC. (which bodes well for me) Anyway, she worked mostly on my butt and legs and I feel much better. The chiro adjusted me and also did some assisted stretching. YAY! I'm back in business. I'm still going to stick with the 50 as planned but looks like Frank might walk another 20 with me after the 50 miler. I still plan on staying awake all night so we'll see. In the meantime, it's rest, rest rest! I don't plan on running in the morning but may end up deciding to get a couple in at the club. (mostly so I'll end up with a VERY HIGH mileage week)
Almost time for American Idol and Biggest Loser! It's a busy night plus the FL primary was today and I'm dying to see who "wins" there. I'm sure a news addict! Time to go!

An Injury in the Making

I just got back from the club after doing 4 easy miles on the treadmill. I feel really good but my hamstring is still feeling week. Is it an injury? I'm trying to nip it in the bud and prevent it from becoming a full fledged injury. I am scheduled to get a massage this afternoon and now I'm going to see the chiropractor after that as well. Hopefully that will eradicate the problem. I'm planning on just resting until Saturday now. Now more running although I may swim or do some pool running tomorrow but will wait to see how everything feels. It's always best to err on the side of caution so rest is best at this point!
So it looks like I'll stick to "just" running the 50 and hope for the best. Frank and I may "walk" a 20 mile loop after we finish the 50. Kind of a reward???? We'll see how we feel but it would enable us to run at night and experience that portion that we haven't yet in preparation for Umstead in April. Hopefully my leg will cooperate. I'm sure it will.
Frank stayed for yoga and I came home after my morning run. It's so strange to be home so early. I usually stay there for 3 or 4 hours and it's lunch time when I get home. That's one way to eat less! I ran for an hour and that was it! It's bizarre how quickly you get used to doing more!
I'm really looking forward to Rocky. Another ultra under our belt. We'll get to see Mary and in two weeks from then we'll get to see Jean and Herm. Running ultras is a big extended family that keeps on growing.
It's going to be in the 60s today! How cool is that? We are really enjoying the weather and although we've had some pretty chilly mornings, they are short and sweet and not mind numbing. It's going to be warm in Texas as well and that makes it challenging to know what to wear. Last year it got really cold at night but this year it looks pretty nice! Looks like shorts are in order and maybe some pullover pants for at night. I'm hoping to be out there until around mind-night with the extra 20 mile loop! Sounds like fun right?!

Monday, January 28, 2008

A Job Interview

I can't believe that I'm actually thinking about going to work and looking forward to it. I contacted a Spa that my hairdresser told me about and have an interview with the owner on Wednesday. When I called to schedule a massage and they told me they didn't have any openings until Mid-March I knew it was time to take the plunge and offer my services. They really need me and I think it'll be a good match. I only want to work a few hours a week, nothing full-time and I think we'll be able to work something out although I have no idea how the percentage will workout. That will definately be a key factor. I have an appointment for a massage tomorrow with a therapist at my chiropractors and I plan to ask her how the pay works around here. It'll be good to have some info so I can be prepared when I meet with the spa owner. I know that the health club pays an hourly rate as well as 40% of the service. Here's a link to the spa www.eurobodytherapies.com. Check it out.

I've also been thinking about running Rocky Raccoon this weekend. Frank and I are signed up to run the 50 miler but I also plan to stay up all night and wait for Mary and Marie to come in. Now I'm thinking about doing a couple more loops so I'll have practice running at night. It's tempting to change my entry to run the 100 miler instead but I really don't think I'm ready to commit to the 100. I have not ruled it out yet though. It would be great to have that goal behind me. I'll talk to Mary about it. Maybe she'll have some thoughts.

Sunday, January 27, 2008

Another Shirt Run completed!

We ran another Shirt Run yesterday with the MTC. There were over 70 runners that showed up, 27 of them "new" members. It was 34 degrees at the start and warmed up to the mid 40s by the time we were done. It's pretty hilly and all on the roads so I was a little stiff when I work up this morning. I set out to the reservoir to run another 3 hour loop but my legs were dead and I ended up bagging it! Frank got his 3 hour in so he's doing well and should have a great time at Rocky next week. I'm going to run at the club tomorrow and hopefully will get 10 easy ones in. I'm getting so I prefer to run on the treadmill. Who would have thought that? Yesterday I ended up running the entire 15 miles alone again so that was a bummer although I really don't like to talk anyway so it was probably just as well. I thought I would be last again but I ended up passing about 8 people towards the end so that helped justify my theory of starting out slow and just maintaining an even pace. I almost caught Marie which would have been great as she as told me she's run with me but then got caught up in the "race" of it and took off. She finished about a minute in front of me; I should have really kicked in at the end and passed her! Next run!
The rest of the day was pretty quiet. I spent some time on the internet shopping and checking out some trails around here to add to our running options and then we went out to lunch. It ended up being a beautiful day after a cool start this morning and it got in the 50s and was very sunny. I'm getting pretty spoiled here!
Oh I almost forgot. I have been approved by the State of NC and have received me license to practice massage. I called a Spa that my hairdresser had told me about to inquire about part-time work. I have an interview this week! I tried to schedule a massage there and couldn't even get an appointment until mid-March so they need my help! I could be working again be next week! (not until after Texas) I'm very psyched about that! Some extra cash would be great plus it would be great to meet more people!

Friday, January 25, 2008

I'm legitimate!

I'm finally licensed to practise massage therapy! Wow! I'm so excited and can now start to look for a job although I am really enjoying not working. Hopefully I'll be able to find a job that won't interfere with my working out too much! I'm optomistic that I'll be able to fit both loves in! I called a spa that my hair dresser told me about and couldn't get an appointment for a massage until mid-March so she definately needs help. I left my info and hopefully will hear from her and can work something out for part=time work. I also plan on sending my resume to a couple of spas in the area.
I decided to take a couple of days off from running and working out after stressing out my hamstings. I'll be running with the MTC tomorrow running 15 on the road and I want to do 15 more on Sunday and should end up with over 50 for the week which is my goal. After Sunday I'll be taking it easy to rest up for the Rocky 50 miler next Saturday.

Tuesday, January 22, 2008

A Simple Day

Nothing much going on today so this will be short. Got a run in at the gym and then spent about 30 minutes on the stair climber. My hamstring is a little tight so hopefully I didn't overdo it?? I iced it and I'm sure it'll be fine by morning. I plan on running at the reservoir tomorrow. It's supposed to be a little warmer so hopefully it'll be a good run. I'm hoping to do about 15 so I'm going to do my regular 12 mile loop and add on a coupld of miles of single trails.
The shirt run is on Saturday so I'll be running another 15 then but it'll be on the roads. Hopefully I won't be last like I was last August when we ran our first shirt run. (when it was about 90 degrees)
That's all for now!

Monday, January 21, 2008

Back in Carolina!




I got home last night and it's pretty cold here as well although still warmer than Cleveland. It was about 16 when we woke up this morning so it does get chilly here. There's also snow on the ground albeit a dusting. I didn't expect to see that here. I've included a photo from the front door!
I went to the club this morning and ran for 10 miles on the treadmill and then lifted weights and went swimming. I tried out my new waterproof IPOD case and it worked great. It really helps when doing lots of laps to stay motivated. I swam for about a mile and headed home. I was going to go back for a spin class but decided it would be a bit much. I'll try to work one in tomorrow.
I'm also attaching a photo of Ada and me in the pool. I took her to her swim lesson and although she was hanging on for dear life, we had fun. I'm also have a photo of Tate's photo being exhibited at the library in his town. Very cool!

Saturday, January 19, 2008

Working it out!

I'm still in Cleveland and must admit, I'm very proud of myself. I have managed to get a couple of runs in which I normally don't. I ran for almost 2 hours yesterday at Rocky River and another 1 1/2 today at the Y. I ended up with a 50 mile week even if it's a lot of junk miles.
I also swam with Ada although we weren't really swimming. She had a lesson but was very afraid and just held on for dear life to her grandma. It was fun though although I guess her mom and dad were disappointed that she didn't move out of her comfort level. I thought it best not to push her too much but I guess they would have. Oh well, I'm the grand mom and didn't want to have her traumatized on my watch. I never am quite sure what to do when it comes to "doing it right" from the parents perspective. My philosophy is to make it fun but I guess that's not learning! Good thing I'm not here more often!

I'm looking forward to going home tomorrow and back into my routine although it's always hard leaving Ada. She enjoys having me here so much. I would love it if we lived closer so we could have a normal relationship. I'm sure it's as hard on Tate and Julie having a house guest 24X7. Oh well, it is what it is and we try to make the most of it.

Better go. I hear Adalyn!

Thursday, January 17, 2008

A few Days away

I arrived in Cleveland yesterday and it was so much fun to see little Adalyn. She was very excited and I could see her waving to me from the car as soon as she saw me. She wanted me to sit in the back with her. She is really getting big and so smart and cute. I'm looking forward to the next few days of playing and getting to know her even more.

i did get an 8 mile run in on the treadmill before I left and hopefully I'll be able to get some running in while I'm here. I just have to play it by ear. Tate is having surgery today and we're not sure how mobile he'll be when he gets home. julie isn't feeling too well and has been experiencing morning sickness and just being tired so I want to be able to give her a break as well. I'm so glad I could come here to help them out. It is pretty cold and is expected to get really cold by Sunday.

Earlier in the week I did get to the doctor and talked with her about my asthma attack and she told me that the inhaler she gave me was not for immediate relief but a treatment for daily use to help in the long term. Now I know why I didn't get much relied from my inhaler. She gave me a new inhaler that should help with a long term treatment and will also help with an attack however, I think I need to get back on the Albuteral for attacks while I'm running. We had decided to change from that because it can make me shaky. I'll take the shakes if it will enable me to run when an attack occurs! Hopefully the long term treatment will help reduce future attacks but I want to know that I can treat an attack when it occurs. We also talked about losing weight and she said I just have a slow metabolism and really need to watch everything I eat. Every bite counts! So it seems at this point that even working out 4 or 5 hours a day isn't enough. So I will continue writing down what I eat and hopefully will see results although slow. One thing about working out so much is that I do get hungry so it's a double edged sword. I think that now I'm in a routine at the club, I will see results albeit slow. I've also come to the conclusion that I get a better run in by running on the treadmill rather than outside. I can run much more consistently. When I run outside I end up having to walk frequently. I think that is caused by all of the allergens and it kicks my asthma in high gear. So I will do most of my workouts at the gym. Another benefit of working at the gym is that I'm there and can do other workouts after I run. Now that I've met with a trainer I have a routine with weights as well as swim or spin. I find that when I run outside and plan to go home and then go to the gym later, I don't end up going back so it'll be good to just stay at the club and get it done. Hopefully I'll be able to use the gym here cause I don't think my lungs could handle running in the cold.

Sunday, January 13, 2008

Baby Ella


We went to visit Ella yesterday and it was really great to see how well everyone was adjusting. Colleen was an old pro with handling the babies as well as the dogs as she opened the door to let us in holding all 3 of them! She's doing great and seems very relaxed with her new role as mom. It's amazing how quickly maternal instinct kicks in. Ella is very beautiful and was awake much of the time we were there, taking everything in. I've attached a new picture and it shows just how much she's changed in a week. Frank is a very proud grand papa!
I did manage to get a little running in over the weekend. I ended up running (with a lot of walking) in yesterday (about 8) and today I "ran" about 18. I started out great and probably went a little too fast for the first half but it was fun. Frank joined me for my 2nd 10 mile loop but I cut it a couple of miles short as I ran out of steam. All in all, I got in about 52 for the week so coming off a 50K last weekend, I was pleased. We did make it over to the club this afternoon and I did an abbreviated weight routine and was going to soak in the hot tub at the spa but I left my bathiing suit home. Oh well, tomorrow we'll get over there and soak!
I'm pretty tired tonight and had all I could do to stay awake until now which is 9:00! Time to get ready for bed and start this crazy thing all over again tomorrow! Can't wait!

Friday, January 11, 2008

I met my hero!

I knew it would eventually happen but I finally met my hero. She was in the locker room at the same time as I and I had to find out about her. It was raining this morning and I noticed her bike at the club entrance when I got to the club and wondered if she rode there in the rain! I asked her if she had and she said she had not. Her husband had dropped her off along with her bike for her ride home. She lives about 5 miles from the club but often makes the ride 10 miles. Anyway, she is at the club every morning at 5:30 (when it opens) but runs for 2 hours BEFORE she gets there! What! How is that possible? She get up every morning between 2:30 and 3:00 and then runs for 2 hours, bikes to the club (5 -10 miles) takes a spinning class or some class depending on the day, works out on the stairclimber ( a real butt kicker) and swims laps everyday! She ends up at the club until about noon everyday. Saturdays and Sunday she doesn't get to the club until 7:00 but that's only because that's when it opens. I asked her how old she was (I know, I'm bold but if you saw her, you'd want to know as well!). She's 69 and will be 70 in a couple of months. She doesn't run in races or anything like that. She just enjoys working out and has been doing it all of her life. She says that she is blessed with tons of energy and has never had an injury. I don't quite get it but she seems to enjoy it and hey, it beats what most people do so to each their own. I asked her if she takes naps and she said no, she has tons of energy. I thought I was "overdoing it" by working out for 3 hours at the club, but now I feel like a wimp! Today, I ran for an hour on the treadmill, then did laps for about 45 minutes and thought I was pretty cool! Oh well, I've got my work cut out for me to keep up with her. She takes a 5:45 (yes AM) spinning class that I've wanted to take but can never get there that early, but may have to check it out now! Anyway, I no longer feel that I can overdo it! Game on! I'm ready to give her a run for her money!

Thursday, January 10, 2008

Getting a routine

I started my first personal training session today and it was great. First I ran for an hour on the treadmill and then I met with the trainer. She showed my some machines that I could use for creating a fitness plan. She says 2 or 3 days a week would be enough in addition to everything else I'm doing I'm doing. I'm going to start out with two until I build up a little, plus I'll be in Cleveland next week so that will alter my schedule so I'll be forced to not overdue it. After my training session I went to the pool and swam for an hour, I guess about 2 miles. It was a little crowded today for a few minutes but not bad. A lot of older women taking a pool running class took up half the pool and they were having a great time! Good for them! It's a real social event for them.
Once I got home, I was pretty tired and didn't do much else. I do have to work on figuring out my schedules so that I can get some done around the house as well as workout. As I build my endurance I think that will take care of itself.
I sent in my application for a license to practice massage so hopefully I'll actually have a job in the near future. I do enjoy working out and going to the club so I'll just take advantage of my time until I get a job!
Tomorrow will be an easy day and I plan on only running a couple of miles and a few minutes on the stairclimber. After that we're going shopping to return some Christmas items. Hopefully we'll find some good sales as well.
I'm planning on a 50 mile week so I have lots of running to do this weekend. My goal is to run about 15 on both Saturday and Sunday! We'll see! That's a lot to ask this old body!

Wednesday, January 9, 2008

I can breathe!

I ran today at the reservoir and actually had a great run. I could breathe! It was pretty warm out (about 60) when I headed out the door so I knew I wouldn't have an attack from the cold so I was optomistic. When I got to the reservoir I discovered that the restrooms were closed for the winter! What! It's January 9, 60 degrees and they're closed for the winter. It'll be interesting to see how long "winter" is here. Hopefully only a month at the most. Also, they did a control burn of the trail around the lake. I was a little concerned that the smoke and embers would effect my breathing but all was fine! Yay! I ran out to Nick's Creek (my tried and true 12 mile out and back route) and I felt pretty good. My legs were a little tired from the 50K on Saturday but all things considered I was pleased with my efforts! I ran 1:15 in each direction so was able to maintain my pace.
I had planned on swimming this afternoon but discovered I had forgotten to bring my pool toys to the pool so I ended up doing pool running for about 30 miinutes. It just felt good to move my legs with the resistance of the water. I can't go underwater without my goggles so I didn't even attempt to swim laps today. I'll get a mile in tomorrow. I enjoy swimming so much that I'm going to get a waterproof case for my IPOD. I think that it would be so wonderful to be able to listen to my music while I glide through the water. I was reading about what a great cross-training workout it is so I'm pleased that I decided to give it a try.

Tomorrow I start work with a personal trainer at the club. Frank got me a workout package for Christmas and I'm very excited about getting some help with my workouts and learning how to use some of the equipment at the club.

It looks like I'm ready to mail in my package to NC so I can get my license to do massage. It could take a couple of months to actually get a license so I don't want to delay another day. I am really looking forward to finding a job and doing massages again! I hope I meet all of their criteria. I am concerned that they might require me to have some additional classes seeings how it's been 8 years since I graduated. Apparently once you're licensed you have to take additional training in order to renew your license but hopefully they'll let me slide for my first license. I have taken several classes since graduation, but even those were a few years ago and would not be current enough. We'll see! This state sure makes it tough to get a job!

Tuesday, January 8, 2008

Back in Training

After 2 days of recovering from my 50K I went to the club to run. I ran 6 miles at a nice easy pace. No problems with my asthma at all so that was great. I was going to take a spinning class after my run and then swim (my own little triathlon) but my quads were still a little sore so I decided to go right to the pool. I swam for 45 minutes and then did a little pool running so it was a good workout. I thought I was doing pretty good to be working out for over 2 hours and then I saw "my hero" who is the 70+ year old who rides her bike to the club (I'm not sure how far but still, she rides there with clipless pedals no less) heading to the pool to do some laps. I had noticed her bike parked out front when I go the club at 7:30 and she was working out on the stairclimber which is one of the toughest machines there. I don't know what else she did before going to the pool but I imagine she took a class or two. When I was in the pool there was a water aerobics class going on with some elder women (probably in their 70s) and I was thinking that will be me someday but I do hope that I'm a little more active and will still be doing laps so when I saw "my hero" I felt assured that I will be still doing laps and running circles around most others my age! I'm sure I'll get to meet her one day and learn more about what she does. Until then, I'll just admire her from afar!

Monday, January 7, 2008

Home at last!




We are finally home from a very hectic weekend. We are almost recovered from the race and the announcement of the new baby arriving early! We decided to drive home and let Colleen and Steve go home with Ella to settle in without a lot of commotion. I'm sure that it will be stressful with everything going on and we felt that it would be best for them to not have to worry about us. Next week I'm going to Cleveland so it'll be a couple of weeks before I get back up to see Ella. It'll be fun living so close so we'll be able to visit her a little more often than we get to see Ada.
Enjoy the photos. It looks like little Ella is laughing in the photo with Aunt Erin. She sure looks like a happy baby!

Sunday, January 6, 2008

Quite a day!

We made it back to Winston Salem again this year to run the Frosty 50K again this year. I was sure I was ready to do another PR after the great run in Texas last month however, I quickly learned that that would not be the case. It was cold and my asthma kicked in and running was practically impossible. What am I to do? The first half (15 1/2 miles) was spent in trying to determine if I should attempt the whole thing or not. I was not having fun and could not get into any kind of pace. I would run and then have to walk. No matter how slowly I tried to run, I just couldn't run for any extended period. I did manage to get to the halfway point at about 3:07 which wasn't too bad although I was almost last. I think there was one person behind me at that point. If that isn't disheartening. Oh well, it is what it is. Anyway, I decided to keep going even if it meant walking the rest of the way. I needed the time on my feet plus it would help with the mental training I needed to prepare for Umstead. I got through the 2nd half in about 3:20 which again I was surprised that it was that fast. I did manage to pass a couple of people so I finished 3 from last but the key word here is finish. I did finally finish. Frank had decided to drop and it was really hard to not drop as well but after a lengthy talk with myself I decided that I needed to keep going. I wasn't injured so had no real reason to quit other than cause it was tough and not fun and not just wasn't a good enough reason. Jean would be very proud of me!
When we checked home for our messages, we learned that Colleen had had her baby! We couldn't believe it. Little Ella decided it was time to be born so out she came a week early! Who would have thought that would happen. By the time we found out, it was too late to get home and then get up to Raleigh so we decided to go see them the next day. (which is now today!) We made it up to the hospital around noon today and found mom, dad and baby all settled in and getting to know each other. What a beautiful baby. Frank and I are so proud to have the two most beautiful granddaughters ever! Ella weighed in at 7.2 and 19 1/4". She is absolutely beautiful and so sweet. We all think she is smiling already! Too cute. Colleen and Steve were beaming and very happy although a little tired. How exciting for them. Pictures to follow soon!

Thursday, January 3, 2008

More Goals for 2008

I've been thinking about what I want to do this year and decided I would like to have a mileage goal for 2008 so I'd have something to keep me motivated during any future slumps that may come up. I've never even tracked my mileage to know what I've done but would now like to keep a weekly or monthly goal. So, my goal for 2008 is to run a total of (drumroll please) 1800 miles. That's "only" about 35 per week or 150 per month so it should be achievable and hopefully even exceedable. I will add a section to the blog with my accumulated mileage throughout the year.

I'd also like to bike a century this year and once Umstead is behind me I'll be able to focus on that. So that's another goal. I'm really looking forward to seeing more of the area around here and the best way to do that is on the bike. You don't get to see much in the woods so it'll be a whole new venture!

My last goal for the year is to weigh at least 15 pounds less than I currenlty do. With all of the biking and running and newly added swimming, this should be a piece of cake. (probably shouldn't use a cake to describe anything having to do with losing weight?) I'm not sure how I'll accomplish that but I am determined so will figure it out. I will also add a section to show my weight loss! So far it's 0!

Wednesday, January 2, 2008

Like riding a bike?

I am so excited. I decided to try swimming today and was amazed that I remembered how to do it. It felt like I hadn't stopped and I was able to pickup where I left off! I'm not even sure when the last time I swam was but I think it was at least 10 years! I ended up doing laps for an hour. It was great after my spinning class. I focused on my upper body since my legs were already trashed from spinning. I had thought I'd go back to the club tonight for a yoga or body pump class but was pretty washed out after the pool! I don't want to overdo it before the 50K on Saturday so I opted to relax tonight. Frank went bowling with our neighbors. He even picked up Regina, one of our neighbors so they're a team! I'll be curious to see how he made out. I hope he has a good time!

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

A New Year! A New You!

It's a new year and I'm really excited. It's always a good feeling to get a fresh start! We ran with some of the MTC this morning at the reservoir and that was fun. Mark Long is one of the nicest guys you could meet. He hung back with Frank and I and we ended up doing a lot of walking and talking so it was fun to just relax out there. It was a beautiful day and I was over-dressed again. I still have a problem figuring out how to run in the mornings here. It's in the 40s when I leave so I dress for the 40s but it warms up so fast that I always get hot! I guess the knickers are the best idea, kind of a comprimise. It's supposed to get cold for the next few day and then warm up again for the weekend. I think I'll wear my capris (a better word then knickers) and a long sleeve shirt and hope for the best. We're running the Frosty 50K again this year. Last year it was in the 70s! I don't think it will be that warm this year, probably in the 50s! It'll be fun doing it this year cause we'll know so many of the runners. I just have to remember that this is a training run for Rocky which is a training run for Umstead! I do want to push myself though as I've been way to easy on myself lately! I need to toughen up.
Tomorrow I plan on running a very easy 10 to 12 miles at the reservoir and then rest until Saturday, from running that is. I do plan on spinning and swimming at the club!