Tuesday, November 4, 2008

First Health officially!


I'm now officially employed at First Health with an id badge and all! I just completed a gruelling 2 day orientation that was, well, gruelling! Basically it consisted of sitting in theater like seats from 8:00 to 4:30 as streams of various departments came in to train us on the ins and outs of the hospital. Most of it did not apply to me as I'll be in the Fitness Center at the Spa and most of the employees at the orientation were nurses or worked somewhere in the medical arena. I must say however, that I am very impressed that the hospital is a really large corporation, albeit not for profit. I'm not sure when I'll actually have my first massage client but I will find out my schedule on Thursday and get the on the job training and an official job description. I pick up my scrubs tomorrow! At least I'll know what I'll be wearing to work every day.

We were in VA over the weekend and Frank did the 3rd race in the Virginia LU Series completing them all in the required time. He ran the 50 mile Mt Massochist and I must say it's named appropriately. I ran about 10 miles of the course, some with him and then a little more with Jean. That was really fun but very challenging and I think that the section I ran was some of the easier trails. It was crazy to think anyone would want to run 50 miles in those mountains! It was a long weekend but I'm glad that Frank's quest for his series jacket is done. Now he can wear it with pride. Now we're trying to determine what our future events will consist of. Frank was able to successfully get us entered in the Uhwarrie 20 mile trail run in Feb so he redeemed himself after his failed attempt at Umstead! It fill in about 30 minutes so he did good! I haven't heard who else got in that we know but I guess we'll find out this weekend at the Shirt Run.

Well, it looks like the presidental election is over for 2008. I had to stop watching it as it really doesn't look good for McCain. I had held out hope that when it came down to it, that many Obama supporters would not be able to pull the lever for Obama but it looks like I was wrong. I am very saddened to think what our future may hold. It seems so unfair that media bias and hidden truths were accepted and encouraged in order to assure a win for a liberal, leftist candidate. Perhaps he would have won anyway but we'll never know and it really seems unlikely. I do not understand how so many are so fooled by this sleezy guy. Hopefully our country can survive 4 years of liberal, leftist control. At least it's over and we can concentrate on more important things, like 2012! Just kidding. I'm electioned out and am looking forward to other issues to focus on although at this point, I'm not sure what that may be. Perhaps working on my own new presidency of the Striders Running Club although I'm getting a little discouraged with the lack of cooperation from the current officers. I've been trying to schedule a meeting to start to transition to 2009 but it's been impossible to get everyone together. (it's only 3 people including me!) I'm starting to have second thoughts about my volunteering to take it over. Anyway, I'll be able to really focus on that and hopefully move the club forward.

Keep moving!

No comments: