Saturday, October 31, 2009

Halloween Hustle

 
Here's Anne and I after the Halloween Hustle 10K. Let's just say my "hair" took a beating! It was fun and good to do a "short" run. Next week, the marathon! Yikes, that's another 20 miles!
Posted by Picasa

Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Recovery going well

I managed to get a 4 mile run in this morning and felt much better than anticipated. I ran a slow 4 and plan on a slow 8 in the morning. Today is my second day of gluten free eating although I'm not all that sure that everything I have had is gluten free but at least I haven't had any wheat which I know I"m allergic to. I'm hoping it will help to lesson my running induced diarrhea. (sorry to be so graphic) I'm also hoping that it will reduce my itchy irritated skin. I look like a leper and I've read that that can be a sign of allergies to wheat and gluten. Fun!
I had my yearly mammogram this morning so I'm good to go for another year. Yay! Always good to have those things behind you.
Franks' birthday is Friday so I'm trying to figure out something to do. My brain is working overtime.
Okay, better get ready for work. Only 2 clients today so that is great. Looks like it's going to be a slow week although I did have 3 yesterday. So far none on Thursday so I'm asking for the day off and maybe we'll go to the beach or golfing or something. Today is a perfect day weather wise but alas, it will not last. A cold front will be here in the morning so golf may not be an open. (It's supposed to rain as well)
Gotta Run!

Monday, October 12, 2009

Sorting it all out

I've been recovering from the New River 50K for the past couple of days and have been trying to figure out why I bonked so badly. I guess it all boils down to being under trained, not eating enough, not drinking anything except water and no electrolytes. Add that to my intestinal issues and it's a road to disaster. I felt great up to about 15 miles and then felt like I was being pulled backwards or running in to a headwind. It took me awhile to realize that it was me slowing down and not everyone else speeding up. (I'm a slow learner) I thought wow! they must be feeling good and are picking it up! Wrong, I had slowed to a crawl and soon would be literally crawling (okay, almost crawling) Anyway, by 20 miles I knew that the last 11 miles would be very hard. I was having a hard time staying on the trail. I kept veering off and leaning to the left. I felt like a car when it's needs to be aligned. Nothing I could do could keep me standing or running straight. I hooked up with MTCer Vicky Fogelman and we dragged each other in. With 1.7 mile to go, the sweeps decided to sweep us in. One of the guys, finally had to literally run next to me and lean into my side so I wouldn't topple over! It was very embarrassing. So far, no photos have surfaced although I could still be blackmailed!
I know it's important to eat and drink but perhaps I felt it wasn't really that important. I was running and feeling great and was running for hours without having to stop to walk. That was great. I felt like my training must be paying off. And then boom! It was over. Oh well, I ran about 15 really good miles so that is what I'll take away from the experience. They are all training runs so it doesn't really matter, I suppose as long as I learn something from all my "training" runs.
One thing I've noticed also is that the runners that seem to be having the best time, have the best time! Think about it! That is the premise of Born to Run and something we should all aspire to. Smile!!!!! Even when it hurts, be HAPPY!

Monday, October 5, 2009

Grampa's birthday bash!

 
Here's a new pic of Frank and Miss Ella. She's quite the little person now.
Posted by Picasa

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Waiting for U2

 
Here we are at the U2 Concert waiting for U2 to begin.
Posted by Picasa

U2 concert

 
Here's a pic that Colleen took at the U2 Concert last night. What a great concert!
Posted by Picasa