Sunday, October 28, 2007

Hey, I thought this was a running Blog!

Yes, most of my posts have been about the progress on the house and not about running. I guess that's because it's been overtaken by house stuff and not doing much running but hopefully we'll be back to running and training on a more consistant basis.

I ran 8+ miles yesterday and went back out today for another 13 so that was great. It's finally cooling off a little and that really helps. Yesterday the humidity was a killer but today was much better. I actually felt pretty good out there and am hopefull that I'm on the road to better running. Next weekend I'm planning on running a double loop of the course I ran today. I'll be able to go to my car for refreshments half way through and hopefully will be able to ignore the cries from my tired body to just get in the car and go home! I'm looking at 6 hours out there and that might be tough by myself. Thank god for the Ipod! Today I used it to help me "run" for the duration of the song. I picked up the pace with the faster songs and used the slower songs to recover and run a little easier. Hopefully I'll be ready for the SunMart 50 miler in December! They have a cut off that I've never had to think about before but I'm sure that will be on my mind although I should be able to stay well ahead of it! (well, at least a little ahead of it!) The 50 miler there is 12.5 mile loops so todays run should be a good preparation for that.
Well, time for popcorn, afternoon treat! Yum!

Saturday, October 27, 2007

A long week!



It's been a very long week and I can't believe how much has been done. The bookcases are finished (they'll be painted next week), the microwave is now built-in to the cabinet, shelves have been added to the master closet and the shower is prepped and ready to be tiled next week. The vanity is being built and should be delivered in a little over a week. It looks like everything will be done before Thanksgiving and that is wonderful. Everyone works so well together and it's been a breeze. They'll be in and out all week but hopefully won't interfere with our runs! Gotta get ready for Umstead!

Today Frank and I removed the wallpaper from the master bath so we can get it primed before the vanity goes in. Doesn't Frank look like he's having fun! I'm not sure whether to paint or wallpaper but at least the worst is over. We're both exhausted. Hopefully tomorrow all we'll have to do is run!

We did finally get out and run today and plan on another one tomorrow. Hopefully we'll be able to get back to our normal training next week. With everything going on we weren't able to run at all this past week although Frank did squeeze a yoga class in on Friday while I held down the fort.

I've attached a photo of the faucets we chose for the masterbath. It looks a little lonely but I think once everything is in it'll look great. Still a lot to do but it's all coming together. Next week we'll be ordering the shower door and the counter top. After that, it's just wait until everything comes in and hopefully all of the workman will be available to finish their jobs!

Stay tuned!

Wednesday, October 24, 2007

Making Progress

Today was a good day! Our bookcases are now finished except for the painting. Hopefully that will happen soon. They look great and I'm very happy with them. Lots of great places to display whatevers! The bathroom is now torn up and work has begun. We've had workers in all week and although it's been a little unsettling and stressful for us, we've gotten a lot done. It looks like they'll be out of here in a couple of weeks and then we can just relax and enjoy! The tile guy was here today and started preparing the room for the tile. The plumber has been here and roughed everything in so we're really doing great. He'll return to finish with the faucets and shower once the tile work and cabinets are done. The electrian stopped by today and will be back to add more lights to the bathroom soffit that Bob is extending to now cover the entire width of the bathroom as well as lighting for the bookcases. We met with a cabinet maker today and he's going to stop by tomorrow to work out the details for building the bathroom vanity. It will save money and time by having the cabinet custom made. I never would have thought that.
I love the tile and faucets that we chose and everything should look great once it's done. Without even realizing it, we were drawn once again to the Victorian style of faucets. We even purchased a new one for the kitchen to go with the rubbed bronze in there and it's Victorian as well. I guess it's hard to totally change what you're attracted to. Hopefully it won't look to out of place in the kitchen! The bathroom will definately be more in the victorian theme.
Our running and working out has really been affected this week but hopefully we'll be back in full swing by the weekend. I think all of our shopping and running around should be about done although there's always something else that we need. I don't think we ever realized just how much we'd be doing to the house. It just kind of snowballed! Oh well, hopefully it'll be done soon and we'll love it!
Photos to follow soon!

Friday, October 19, 2007

Bathroom Design

Wow! Everything is happening so fast. It seems that our contractors are all available to start our bathroom work immediately so Frank and I have been out beating down the streets looking for faucets, vanities and tile for the shower! Fortunately we've actually agreed on everything and work will begin on Monday! The vanity will take a couple of weeks to get so we'll be using the guest room shower until then, but it will all be done by the holidays so that is terrific!
We've selected antique looking brushed bronze fixture for the tub, sink and shower. It's really beautiful. We feel very fortunate that we were able to find something we liked in such a short period of time so that the work can begin. We were feeling overwhelmed by everything that we had to do but it's all falling into place. Everyone has beem so helpful and we feel like we're making good choices. It's still scary spending so much money but we did have it set aside to do stuff on the house, so I need to relax about it.

It'll interupt our training schedule for awhile but hopefully we'll be able to work that in as well. I'm concerned about my studying for my certification tests so I can find a job around here, but hopefully I'll be able to devout some time to that as well. I'm just going to have to make time since I have to take the test by the first of the year. The girls are coming for the weekend, so we've been getting ready for that as well, putting the finishing touches on the rooms and cleaning. After they leave, we'll start moving our stuff into the guest bathroom. Never a dull moment that's for sure.

It's really fun to watch everything come together. Frank and I have been shopping for accesories and he's really getting into it and I must say we've done good! Lots of new prints and trinkets around that bring everything together. I think I have created a shopping monster! Maybe he'll be able to find a job in decorating!

Well, gotta run!

Thursday, October 18, 2007

General Contracting!

Just when I thought we were done with major projects around the house now that all of the rooms are painted, new electric fixtures are installed, and most of the furnishings and accessories are in place we are handed the biggest project of all! We are now working with individual contractors to have the work done for the remaining remodeling and will be busy running around ordering materials and coordinating efforts. The good news is is that it looks like we'll be able to have everything done by the holidays so that is great.

Today, the new carpenter (Bob) is here tearing down the bookcases that had been started earlier. It looks like he'll be starting to build the new ones next week. (he's in-between jobs so good timing on our part) The bathroom project will be a pretty big project but hopefully won't take too long. The tile guy just left and will be giving us an estimate and should be able to start in a week or two. The plumber will be here later and hopefully he's available to start next week as well.
Our electrician, Dave Salmon turned us on to the carpenter and what a find that was! I am so pleased with the direction that this is now going. After our experience with Rudy, it's a little unsettling to hire someone else just by word of mouth but the electrician who did a super job works with the carpenter on a lot of jobs and was highly recommended.

We're going to drive to a new house today to look at the job that our tile guy is working on. It'll give us ideas (hopefully not too expensive) and from there we'll be ready to order the tile. I'm hoping to get a seamless glass door. It's a little more expensive (well okay a lot more expensive) but heck if this is our "forever" house, I say go for it. We've been able to cut expenses in several areas so should have the money to get what we want.

Well, I'd better start doing some searches for ideas and get busy with my day.

Monday, October 15, 2007

Third time's a charm (well almost!)

We finally made it through the ID process at Motor Vehicles today! Now on to the test! We took the test and passed! I was sweating it for awhile, especially since I got the first question wrong. Not off to a great start. Anyway, I continued and passed and got my license. Frank was not so lucky. He was after me and even thought he passed the test the computer went down right after they took my picture (I guess you could say I borke the camera) and that was that. Now he has to go back to get his actual license with photo but hopefully that will be uneventful. Hopefully his test results aren't lost in the computer glitch! Being at the DMV became even more stressful when the handyman that we had just fired last week, also appeared to get a new license. He is the only person that I can think of that I never wanted to see again, and low and behold, there he was! How awkward. And then I thought, why should I feel embarrassed, he was the one that did shotty work. None the less, it was awkward to have to sit across from him as we waited our fate!

We ran at the reservoir this morning and for the first time in awhile, I felt great! The weather was perfect and I felt rested from not running yesterday. I ended up painting the guest room in lieu of running yesterday after waking up tired and fatigued from Saturday. I think we're going to start running long on Saturdays and then taking Sundays off to recover, at least most weekends. We'll use Sundays to get stuff done around the house, bike ride or just relax and read the paper and drink coffee. We'll see how it works out but it seems like a good idea.

We're going to the club tonight. Frank is going to do some weights and a little more running. I'm going to take the spin class. I love spinning and think it will help with my endurance and hill running! Our goal now is to start focusing on the Umstead and what we need to do and then doing it. Both of us would like to do a few two-a-dayers during the week. We'll see!

Tomorrow night is POA #6 barbeque. Frank and I signed up to go so hopefully we'll have a good time and meet more new people as well as see some of our neighbors. I'm sure eating will be a challenge but hopefully I'll be able to make reasonable choices. Wednesday is Frank's birthday so we'll be eating out again, so it may be a difficult week to stay focused on healthy eating especially with the girls coming down this weekend. It'll be fun to see Erin's new puppy and Colleen's new belly!

Friday, October 12, 2007

A Driver Denied! Again!

We were turned away at the NC Motor Vehicle Dept today for the 2nd time due to incomplete ID! They had told us we needed two forms of ID and could use birth certificate or Social Security Card as well as current license. Frank brought his birth certificate but quickly learned that one of the two forms of ID had to have a Social Security number on it! This is one cautious state. I've gotten drivers licenses in at least 5 other states and have never had anything like this happen. Perhaps it's due to Sept 11 or as a result of illegal aliens but it seems that they have no problem getting a drivers license, but perhaps not in NC. Anyway, it's very frustrating as I have to keep calling our insurance company to get an extension of the verification card that they have to provide. Oh well, I guess it's just another annoying thing to do as a new resident. Hopefully the third time will be a charm as we plan to go back next week and try yet again. I thought that taking the test would be the hard part but it seems that just having the right paperwork is the tough part.
After that fiasco, we went to luch at 149 which is a "health food" restaurant. Erin had given Frank a gift certificate for there and it was pretty good and healthy. We will go back although it is pretty pricey.
Then we went shopping for more accersories. Frank is really getting a eye for such things and he spotted a few things I missed! Soon I won't be needed at all. I think we may be over accesorizing if that's possible but when we find "cute tropical" things, we can't resist. Things are coming together but I still am anxious for all to be done and perfect. I'm not sure why I have to have everything perfect but I do. As much fun as the hunting is, to walk into a complete room, just makes me feel good. We're waiting to hear from the contractors that came to inspect the masterbath so that we can know what we're dealilng with and get the work started. From what we've been told, they are never in a hurry around here. Plus, we still have to get someone here to tear out and then build our bookcases. Oh hum, next year at this time, I"ll be bored cause we won't have any more projects but I'm very much looking forward to being bored.
We're planning to run for about 3 hours at the reservoir tomorrow. I guess I'll go around the lake and then out to Nick's Creek and back. That should be around 15 miles. I'd like to repeat it on Sunday and really get a good base built. I think we're on the right path, now we just have to stay consistant. I ran today at the club and then did a yoga class and felt great so I must be recovered from last weekend.!
Later!!

Thursday, October 11, 2007

Slow recovery

It was finally a little cooler today and I couldn't wait to get out and get a good run in. My thought was to go to the reservoir and run for 2 hours, nice and slow and get in 8 to 9 miles. It was a beautiful morning and for the first time in a long time, I was a little chilly at the start. As I began to run, I realized just how fatigued my body still was. So I decided to just accept it and walk. It was a nice compromise and a nice way to start my day. I realized out there that I have to respect the fact that I'm not 20 or even 30 anymore and allow my body time to recover from tough workouts. Tomorrow I plan on going to the club to run on the treadmill and then take the gentle yoga class. I also realized that I need to create a doable training schedule for Umstead that allows recovery time and not just what I think I should do or what the books say I should do. That is what I plan to work on over the weekend.
Hopefully the major projects around the house will be done soon and we can concentrate on training.
Better go study so I can pass my drivers test tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Wednesday, October 10, 2007

Time flying by

Frank and I have been busy this week trying to recover from the trail marathon we did last Saturday but have gotten stuff accomplished around the house. We got the sunroom painted and accessorized and it looks great. Finally one room finished, well except for replacing the fan with the new wicker one. That will make the room complete. I'm not sure if we'll tackle that one ourselves or not. We may have to in order to get it installed anytime soon.

We also worked on organizing the den and getting our books (what's left of them) out of the garage and onto the bookcases. I also worked on the guest room and took out much of the stuff that had accumulated in there. I had hoped to be able to go through the photos etc and be able to place them on the new built-in bookcases, but that was not to be. We ended up firing the guy that was building the bookcases as his work was shotty. Now we're going to have to pay someone to remove what he did and start from scratch. We're waiting for a couple of quotes now but it may be awhile. Hopefully they'll be done by Thanksgiving but it doesn't seem likely.
Anyway, little by little, things are getting done.

I'd like to be able to concentrate more on running and getting in shape but I find it difficult to focus on that when there is so much that I want to do around the house. It's easy to get diverted and just do house stuff. I guess I'm a home body at heart and I really like to be comfortable in my surroundings.

Tomorrow I'm going to the reservoir again to run. We went there today and I hooked up with a women that I met at the running club meeting last week, and we did a loop together. She's a little faster than me (who isn't) but that will be good for me to make me push a little more on "hard" days. The weather is supposed to cool down starting tomorrow. It's been record hot again and hopefully, this will be the end of it. It felt better tonight although it's still in the 80's but the low are supposed to be in the 40's by the weekend. I may just keep running all day!

Tomorrow will be a great day. I plan on getting a really good run in and then doing some shopping. Sounds like a perfect day!

Sunday, October 7, 2007

Road Running vs Trails Running

I was just reading about the Chicago Marathon and learned that the race was actually called off at around 4:00 hours due to severe heat and the number of runners that were getting ill and am reminded of yet another reason why I prefer the trails. Yesterday we ran the Triple Lakes Marathon which is a trail marathon in NC and even though it was hot (upper 80s and humid) I only noticed it when we were out of the trails to cross a road. I would think "wow it's hot out" and then I'd go back into the woods and forgot about the heat. The other thing is just how much easier the trails are on your legs and and body (unless of course you fall, but that is a different story). I ran a tough, rolling course yesterday and today, I am not even sore. (well, barely) I am amazed that my body has recovered so quickly. I did soak in the jacuzzi last night so perhaps that contributed but I am very surprised. I think I'll go to the reservoir and run about an hour tomorrow, nice and easy but just to do something before starting the day painting the sunroom. I am very proud of my friend Bev, however, who is a road runner, and she completed the marathon in just over 5 hours. Very impressive. Reports were that about 10,000 failed to show up to start (very smart people, I might add) and then about another 10,000 failed to finish, so Bev did a great job. I hope she is recovering tonight and doesn't have any long lasting effects of such a gruelling event. She really knows how to pick 'em; earlier this year she went to Boston dispite severe weather and recommendations to not go, she went and she finished it and now again in Chicago. Maybe now, she'll listen to me and decide to give trail running a try! I'll work on her!
Tomorrow we're painting our sunroom and we decided to go with a sagey green which is really pretty but I'm afraid it will be too dark. I hope to report that I love it so let's hope for the best. But the good news, is is that if I don't like it, there's not a lot to paint so we'll just keep painting it until we get it right. It's so hard to choose a color until the whole thing is done. I tried just painting a couple of small sections but I don't think you can make a decision fromo that, so paint it all we must. We are going to be professional painters after we're done . Hey, maybe, that'll be our next career!
Better get some rest for another busy day!

Saturday, October 6, 2007

Triple Lakes Marathon

Frank and I set off for Greensboro again this year to run the Triple Lakes Marathon/40 Miler. This year we opted to run the marathon distance instead of the 40 as our training did not warrant a 40 mile effort. (but it did an 18 hour, 52 mile run last weekend????) Anyway, I'm really glad that we decided to do "just" the 26.2 miles. It was tough. The course was very runnable but rooty. I fell twice and Frank feel once. It remined my of Rocky Raccoon. The fact that it's so runnable makes it even tougher. My goal was to run under 6 hours and I thought that would be good enough to capture my age group award as well, since last year the winning time in my age group was over 7 1/2 hours! Well, I did squeeze in in just under 6:00 hours (I came in and was passed by the first women running the 40 mile event as we ran around the little pond just before the finish! How humiliating!) Oh well, maybe I was old enough to be their mother) Anyway, a ringer from Florida decided to try a trail marathon for her 50th birthday and decided she could win this was judging from the previous years results. She's a road racer and looks really fast and guess what, she was. She ran the marathon in 5:07 so needless to say she whooped my butt but I was still very happy with my time and pleased with my effort, especially since I'm still recovering from "running" 52 last weekend. I do feel that my endurance is finally improving and I'm looking forward to more respectable times. Frank won his age group so he was very happy. He ran 4:49 and was thrilled with his effort since neither one of us are where we want to be but looks like he's well on his way. (plus he only ran 22 last weekend. I'm looking forward to checking the results as there were others running the 40 today that also ran the 24 hour last weekend.
I'd like to run it again next year, but it will depend on the Hinson Lake 24 hour run. I definately want to run the whole 24 hours so is Triple Lakes is the following weekend again, it just won't work.
Tomorrow an update on our bookcases. Very interesting. I'm too tired to write about it now.

Thursday, October 4, 2007

Making Progress

Our sunroom and dining room furniture finally arrived today. Everything looks great. The sunroom is going to be our favorite room. Hopefully we'll be able to finish it next week. We're going to paint it and replace the white ceiling fan with a wicker one that will coordinate with the furniture. The monkey lamp looks perfect with the sofa fabric! I love it. It's feels good to have a room almost finished. Hopefully the bookcases will be done by next weekend. That's taken way too long.
We went bowling last night and it was fun however, I don't think I'm going to make it regular event. I was really bad (I only broke 100 once and that was just barely) and even though that doesn't really matter, it just isn't our cup of tea. Plus, it made me too tired to workout today although some of the fatigue could be left from running 52 miles last Saturday! Go figure!
Tonight we're going to a running club meeting at the health club so that will be fun. I'm sure it'll be an entirely different type of people than we met last night. We've met so many people since we've been here and everyone is always nice and welcoming.
Our neighbor, Carolyn comes home tonight so that will be fun. She's watching Chico this weekend. I hope it works out for both of them so she'll want to take him regularily. (so I can't spell!)
Okay, I'd better get ready for the meeting. More later after the marathon!

Wednesday, October 3, 2007

Reflections of my 24 hour effort

It's been a couple of days since the 24 hour run (18 for me) and although I would have liked to go a few more hours, I'm happy with my efforts. I ran today at the reservoir and did 9 miles and felt great. I don't think I would be as recovered as I am if I had of stayed out much longer and then I'd be in tough shape for Triple Lakes Marathon. I'd like to run that in under 6 hours. I think it's doable but time will tell.
Our sunroom furniture comes tomorrow. I'm so excited. It'll be nice to have an escape room to go to to read and relax. Once that is in, we should be able to move forward with other updates. I've been waiting to make a decision about the placement of the dining room light fixture until the bakers rake is in and that comes tomorrow as well so we'll be able to change out the light and buy a rug. It looks like it's starting to come together.
I'm getting frustrated with the bookcases as the carpenter (Rudy) has been less than dedicated to the job. He hasn't spent much time here and I'm beginning to question the quality of his work. He's due to come back next week, and if I don't see a lot of progress and better quality, I'm going to find someone else to finish the job. It's getting insane.
Tonight we're going bowling with POA6. I'm not all that thrilled to be going, but I want to be social. It should be fun and we don't have to go every week, just when we feel like it so that's good. I was really afraid of having to make a commitment and didn't want to do that.
Well, I'd better go fix dinner (an early dinner so we can go bowling)
Let's BOWL!