Well, I got through the Owls Roost Half Marathon and after a rocky start with dead legs I was very pleased with the outcome. I started in the back with Irene and started to jog as I began to warm up so I was last from the get go. My chest burning was minimal so that was a pleasant surprise. I started passing people around 3 or 4 miles and started feeling better about my steady pace although my legs were still tired from Thursdays workout and I had my doubts about finishing. I started to count the runners I passed for awhile but lost count. I realized that I'd be able to figure it out by looking at the results to determine how many people ended up finishing behind me. I ended up passing about 28 people so that made me feel great. I was third in my age which I didn't expect but I was happy with that has well. Now I'm excited to do more races and get my endurance back. We've signed up to do a 15K this weekend in Chapel Hill and it looks like a lot of fun. Another single trail event and not too long a distance so it'll be a good training run. Maybe we'll make a comeback after all.
Work has slowed down and I'm only going to end up with 2 clients today which is fine. Kind of nice to have a break actually. I do plan on swimming after I'm done which will be around 7:00. I'm finding I really like winding down after work and it's a great time as the pool is pretty quite by then.
Chico goes to the vet tomorrow to have his teeth cleaned. That always makes me nervous but the vet came highly recommended so I feel as confident as I can feel I suppose.
Well, better get ready for work and play. Lots to pack for the spa plus the gym!
Out!
This is a blog of my runnings and ramblings in North and South Carolina. It's a motivator and memory minder of our new experiences living in the south.
Monday, April 27, 2009
Friday, April 24, 2009
Owls Roost Rumble
Well, we're off to do the Owl's Roost Rumble 1/2 Marathon. It's in Greensboro about 2 hours from here and it's going to be about 89 degrees so it'll be HOT!!!! Oh well, it'll be a nice day in the woods. I ran about 8 miles yesterday after a leg workout with my trainer. Probably not the smartest workout right before doing a half marathon that you're not up for, but what the heck, who ever said I was all that smart. At least I have a ton of excuses for a very slow run!!!!! It's a good think I'm not too competitive and am not too concerned about my time.
Sunday is the Striders picnic and it's going to be about 88 degrees! A good day to stand around and chat rather than running! I'm hoping to get on my bike Sunday afternoon and for good measure, maybe just in the pool for a cooldown swim!
I've been swimming after work at night and I'm really enjoying it. Once I take the initial plunge I'm always glad I did it but it's tough to make myself get wet. I'm hoping that an evening workout will become a habit and eventually may be able to do something other than swimming but if not, swimming is a great workout.
Well, better get ready for the drive. It'll be great because we'll be able to do a little shopping. Target and Costco! Who could want for more. Who ever thought a trip to Target would be fun!!!!! Well, it is!
Say some prayers for us this weekend as neither Frank nor I are in "racing" shape! I'm mosting hoping not to fall. Ever since I broke my pinky, I'm a little nervous!
Better go!
Out!
Sunday is the Striders picnic and it's going to be about 88 degrees! A good day to stand around and chat rather than running! I'm hoping to get on my bike Sunday afternoon and for good measure, maybe just in the pool for a cooldown swim!
I've been swimming after work at night and I'm really enjoying it. Once I take the initial plunge I'm always glad I did it but it's tough to make myself get wet. I'm hoping that an evening workout will become a habit and eventually may be able to do something other than swimming but if not, swimming is a great workout.
Well, better get ready for the drive. It'll be great because we'll be able to do a little shopping. Target and Costco! Who could want for more. Who ever thought a trip to Target would be fun!!!!! Well, it is!
Say some prayers for us this weekend as neither Frank nor I are in "racing" shape! I'm mosting hoping not to fall. Ever since I broke my pinky, I'm a little nervous!
Better go!
Out!
Wednesday, April 1, 2009
Out of my funk!
Today is April 1 and I'm finally out of my funk. Whew! I was just really not doing well. Part of it was probably that I'm so exhausted from working so much and I think I've solved much of that problem. I had been extending my hours and it was just too much. Also, I wasn't running until 9:00 most days and it was just too late as I couldn't get anything else done. So, I'm running at 8:00 and working out with a personal trainer a couple days a week. I felt a lot stronger this morning on my run and am finally making progress. I think the Cross-fit Training will really help with my cardio as well as strength. We're starting to think about running again and have signed up for at least one trail run. We're going to do a half-marathon trail event in Greensboro where they hold the 40 miler in the fall. It's a good way to make a return to the trails. It's on April 25. In May we're doing a 15K in Asheville on the Biltmore Estates. It's supposed to be beautiful although I'm actually a little sorry that we signed up to do it as there are some other events that might be better for us to do. The Biltmore race is on the roads but it's only a 15K so hopefully it won't be too bad.
Tomorrow is the running club meeting and hopefully that will go well. I've got a good agenda and we have a guest speaker coming to talk about feet! Hopefully it will be interesting.
Not too much going on and it's almost time for American Idol so I'd better get ready! Who will get the boot tonight? I hope it's Megan but she seems to skate every week!
Gotta Run!
Tomorrow is the running club meeting and hopefully that will go well. I've got a good agenda and we have a guest speaker coming to talk about feet! Hopefully it will be interesting.
Not too much going on and it's almost time for American Idol so I'd better get ready! Who will get the boot tonight? I hope it's Megan but she seems to skate every week!
Gotta Run!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)